A Woman’s Question

Do you know you have asked for the costliest thing

Even made by the Hand above?

A woman’s heart, and a woman’s life –

And a woman’s wonderful love.

Do you know you have asked for this priceless thing

As a child might ask for a toy?

Demanding what others have died to win,

With the reckless dash of a boy.

You have written my lesson of duty out,

Manlike, you have questioned me.

Now stand at the bars of my woman’s soul

Until I shall question thee.

You require your mutton shall always be hot,

Your socks and your shirt be whole;

I require your heart be true as God’s stars

And as pure as His heaven your soul.

You require a cook for your mutton and beef,

I require a far greater thing;

A seamstress you’re wanting for socks and shirts –

I look for a man and a king.

A king for the beautiful realm called Home,

And a man that his Maker, God,

Shall look upon as He did on the first

And say: “it is very good.”

I am fair and young, but the rose may fade

From this soft young cheek one day;

Will you love me then ’mind the falling leaves,

As you did ’mong the blossoms of May?

Is your heart an ocean so strong and true,

I may launch my all on its tide?

A loving woman finds heaven or hell

On the day she is made a bride.

I require all things that are grand and true,

All things that a man should be;

If you give this all, I would stake my life

To be all you demand of me.

If you cannot be this, a laundress and cook

You can hire and little to pay;

But a woman’s heart and a woman’s life

Are not to be won that way.

                                        By

                                          Lena Lathrop.

2 thoughts on “A Woman’s Question

  1. Hi Sharon, I can understand Lena’s need, many woman experience it because of male chauvinism and so they are not valued as a Helpmate physically, mentally , emotionally and spiritually, their help is shunned except as a cook and child bearer.

    It is not that I agree with woman being in Authority over men, it is the Man’s role to be in Leadership but a woman is to be cherished and to have sacrificial Love from her earthly husband the same as she does from her Spiritual Husband, Jesus Christ, but sadly there are woman who are not given this unconditional Love from the men they married or are they respected as of value by some men in the Church and so they may seek a role that they were not chosen or equipped for both in the home and Church.

    Thank you for being sensitive to this need of a woman to be considered of great value.

    Christian Love from both of us Anne.

  2. Hi Sharon, I am enjoying both your Blogs, although you do have a problem with your Like button on this one. Wayne my Computer Technition has done a debugging on my Computer and also checked out some of the other Blogs I comment on, he has identified what the problem is such as when people can’t use the Like Button or have other problems like I do with Posting and commenting.

    Wayne said it is a plug or attachment that is causing these problems and may need replacing or adjusting, it’s part of WordPresses Platform,

    They are called Backbone and another one is wpcom.Kissmetrics, you can quote these when you contact WordPress Support as I will also do.

    Hope that helps – Christian Love Anne

What do you Think?

